About Us

Cobargo Community Bushfire Recovery fund

The Cobargo Community Bushfire Recovery Fund Inc is an independent, community run, not-for-profit incorporated
association run entirely by volunteers from Cobargo and the surrounding district. The fund was established shortly
after the bushfire that devastated our region by four of the key Cobargo community organisations. These are the Yuin
Folk Club, which produces the Cobargo Folk Festival, the Cobargo Show Society which runs the agricultural show,
the Cobargo Co-op – a community owned agriculture co-operative and the Cobargo Bowerbird Opportunity Shop.

Our vision is for our community and community groups to implement a recovery that ensures Cobargo and the
surrounding district not only survives this disaster but emerges as a stronger, more connected community. Our Aim is
to help our community relieve the significant and unusual disadvantage of the community of Cobargo, NSW and the
surrounding region. This includes Quaama and the surrounding localities, however, we haven’t set a hard and fast
geographical boundary, preferring that applications be evaluated on their merits.

The fund committee members are all local residents in Cobargo and district: Zena Armstrong (President), Mike Nicholas (Secretary), Carolyn Cole (Treasurer), Shane Black, Deborah Gough, Don Green, Inna Skrypay, Debra Summer and David Wilson. Helen Stafford is the Public Officer. The Committee meets monthly, usually on the third Thursday.
Funds are raised through a Go Fund Me campaign, by direct donation to the Fund’s bank account and through
grants. The fund is a registered charity and is audited by Kothes